Established in 1963, Laxman Singh Mahar Govt. Post graduate College Pithoragarh (Uttarakhand) is an affiliated college of Kumaon University Nainital. It is the college which is being developed as model college by the Government of Uttarakhand, and is among the 70 Government Colleges in Uttarkhand. It is the only college of Kumaon region which has been previously accredited as B++ by NAAC.

With the vision to strengthen the root of higher education in remote area Pithoragarh, Uttar Pradesh Government  established this college in the year 1963. Initially  the College was started with seven subjects of undergraduate courses in arts stream. In a very short span of time, responsive to the needs and demands of the local people, studies in science and commerce streams upto undergraduate level were also started. 

This was soon followed by the setting up of education faculty and upgradation of the existing streams to the postgraduate level in 1971. In the initial decade the College was affiliated to Agra University but from 1973 being affiliated with Kumaon University the College is constantly progressing to the new achievements. Beginning with the modest strength of 32 students the college grew into having largest student input in the district today. The exposure in sports and academics makes this college one of the biggest government colleges of Kumaun region.

Location :

The College is located in the district headquarter of Pithoragarh and is situated at 151 km.and 220 km road distance from Tanakpur and Kathgodam rail heads respectively.

Land and Building :

The area of land in possession is 10736.315 sq. mtrs. while the built up area is 1500 sq. mtrs. There are 9 number of constructed buildings , 35 rooms, 1 multipurpose Hall, 12 Labs and 1 play ground in the College. The College is equipped with 1 Library enriched with more than one lakh of text and reference books. A collection of reputed journals is also housed in a seperate Hall (UGC Reading Hall) for the benefits of the students. Digitization of Library is proposed and we are trying our best to implement a digital Library.

Legacy :

 It is the fortune of this College that  it always got concepts and guidance of learned academicians as its principals. The List of honored Principals who imparted his services to this college is 

Honored Principals who imparted their services to this college are

S.No. Name of the Principal Tenure in this College
 1. Prof. J.P.Agarwal
 2. Dr. O.P. Mathur  
 3. Dr. Chail Bihari Gupta  
 4. Prof. K. R. Bambwal  
 5.  Dr. B. N. Ganguly  
6. Dr. Chaudhary Jagdish Narayan Saxena  
7.  Dr. S. S. Khanna  
8.  Dr. Omkar Nath Srivastava  
9. Dr. K. N. Joshi  
10. Prof. P.C. Barakoti  
11. Dr. Padmadutt Karnatak  
12. Dr. K. C. Sharma  
13. Dr. Dinesh Chandra Pandey  
14. Dr. R. D. Pandey  
15. Prof. Gajraj  
16. Prof. Girdhari Lal  
17. Prof S. C. Pant  
18. Prof. C.S. Pandey  
19. Dr. J. C. Garkoti  
20. Prof. K. K. Bhatt  
21. Dr. N. Punetha  
22. Dr. G. S. Bisht  
23. Prof.(Smt.) Bhagirathi Bhatt  
24. Dr. Devraj Singh Pangtey  
24. Dr. Ashok Negi